Review of Gone Girl

Gone Girl is a story of a husband who finds his wife missing and all of the clues point to him as the main suspect. But things are not what they seem. The film is filled with many twist and turns and directed by the always great David Fincher (The Social Network, Fight Club). Based on the book by Gillian Flynn, it paints a picture of how the media influences our view of people and how some people can use this to their advantage. I have not read the book and I am glad that I had not before seeing the film. I enjoy going to a film and not knowing what will happen. There are moments that I thought that the film would go one way then took me in a completely different direction.

The film stars Ben Affleck (Argo, The Town) as Nick Dunne, the husband of Amy Dunne. Who is played brilliantly by Rosamund Pike (Jack Reacher). Ben Affleck keeps getting better and better. He is far removed from the days of Daredevil or Gigli , he gives a solid performance that is one of his best. How ever the real standout in the film is Rosamund Pike. Her performance is one of the best I have seen this year. If she is not nominated for an Oscar, it will truly be a crime. The rest of the film has some great supporting performances by Tyler Perry, Neil Patrick Harris, Kim Dickens and Carrie Coon.

The film keeps you on the edge of your seat and makes you think through out the film as to who did what and why. I have heard some people say that they did not like the ending, I thought that it fit with the tone of the film. I would highly recommend that you see this film. Gone Girl will and should be talked about during award season. Not only for Best picture, but also Best Director and Best Actress. I give is a 4.25 out of 5. See it you will not be disappointed.

Comment and let me know what you thought of Gone Girl.

Leave a comment